AC Model

Discuss your favorite fanfic here, or talk about anything fanfic related.

Moderator: AC Moderators

User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:30 am

I was trying to think of a new cad project, when it hit me, why not make an AC?

I have attempted this before, and failed, but my 3D design skills have improved markedly since then, and I wanted to give it another shot.

I wanted to know, if anyone wanted to upload a pics of their AC from different angles, and/or give me the schematics for it, i would attempt to model it in the program Autodesk 3DS max for them; the same program I use for my studies, then upload an image of the finished model for everyone to see. Please make the AC from ACV, as that would be much more convenient to use as a guide. Im looking forward to getting started. Thanks. :mrgreen:

(depending on the complexity of the design, it may take a long time to complete...)

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
ClefJ
The Seraphim
Posts: 1681
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:27 pm
GamerTag: ClefJ
Location: The Glove in Water.
Contact:

Re: AC Model

Postby ClefJ » Wed May 02, 2012 10:03 pm

That sounds absolutely fascinating. 0o I figure my AC seems a bit outdated, from the AC3 era and all. Would be a grand project I'd wager with all the small parts going into an AC's design.
"Clef Cross built an Armored Core in a CAVE... with a box full of SCRAPS."
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Thu May 03, 2012 2:26 am

definitely, I was thinking it would take me a couple of weeks to get the basic shapes bound to a biped mesh base, and then i could add details from there (That's where the months are). That way i could keep the finished product and use it in animations. :mrgreen:

Share this around, as i would like to get started as soon as possible. (if you would like to get an idea of the quality of the finish, look at my post here; http://forum.acgarage.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=17243 its the second one down thats the finished product. :mrgreen: )

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
Chevalier
Raven
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:08 am
GamerTag: ChaseNetwork
Location: Osan AB, South Korea

Re: AC Model

Postby Chevalier » Thu May 03, 2012 4:17 am

I look forward to the fruits of this project.
Xbox Live GamerTag: "ChaseNetwork"
Time Zone: Zulu+9
Core Nexus (NA-360) - Unit [36]
Proud AC Architect
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Fri May 11, 2012 9:52 pm

Sorry to inform you, but my computer decided to 'kark it', and no longer has the capacity to run 3DS max... I may be able to work on this project at school, but it may become a *very* long-term progect instead due to my limited acess to the design software i need. :cry:

Sorry everyone, but ill still try for some results before the end of the year. :(

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
Chevalier
Raven
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:08 am
GamerTag: ChaseNetwork
Location: Osan AB, South Korea

Re: AC Model

Postby Chevalier » Sat May 12, 2012 5:13 am

This might help you out:
http://www.blender.org/
Blender is an open source 3D Game Design software that requires very little in the way of computer hardware specs.
I myself used to mess with it while I was trying to help out the Naruto Abunai MMORPG project.
Xbox Live GamerTag: "ChaseNetwork"
Time Zone: Zulu+9
Core Nexus (NA-360) - Unit [36]
Proud AC Architect
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Sat May 12, 2012 5:25 am

haha, i tried blender once... Lets just say, its hard, and not to mention frustrating to use once you have learnt how to use 3ds max. also, as this project is also study related, i have to use 3ds max as it is the program used at the college i am attending next year. Thanks anyway. :mrgreen:

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
Chevalier
Raven
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:08 am
GamerTag: ChaseNetwork
Location: Osan AB, South Korea

Re: AC Model

Postby Chevalier » Sat May 12, 2012 5:38 am

I should've expected you to have had prior experience with Blender. ^_^;
Well, that sucks. I first heard about 3DS Max back in 2002 when I was doing W40K: Dawn of War mods. I wanted to get into that before I found out that 3DS Max costs something like $500 in cold, hard USD.
Just looked it up again. WTF IS THIS!? 3.5 GRAND!?!?!? OMFG!
Xbox Live GamerTag: "ChaseNetwork"
Time Zone: Zulu+9
Core Nexus (NA-360) - Unit [36]
Proud AC Architect
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Sat May 12, 2012 5:56 am

I know... I get it for free for the time being while im a student though. :mrgreen:

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
Chevalier
Raven
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:08 am
GamerTag: ChaseNetwork
Location: Osan AB, South Korea

Re: AC Model

Postby Chevalier » Sat May 12, 2012 6:11 am

I'm jelous.
Xbox Live GamerTag: "ChaseNetwork"
Time Zone: Zulu+9
Core Nexus (NA-360) - Unit [36]
Proud AC Architect
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Sat May 12, 2012 6:15 am

... Its no good when it your laptop is a peice of... Its lucky i havent smashed it. The program will start, but it freezes after about 50 polys. :cry:

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN
User avatar
Chevalier
Raven
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:08 am
GamerTag: ChaseNetwork
Location: Osan AB, South Korea

Re: AC Model

Postby Chevalier » Sat May 12, 2012 7:59 am

Guess it's time to transfer to... A PC! >_>;
Xbox Live GamerTag: "ChaseNetwork"
Time Zone: Zulu+9
Core Nexus (NA-360) - Unit [36]
Proud AC Architect
User avatar
shurikenlord13
Raven
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:35 am
PSN: iStompya
Location: Everywhere...

Re: AC Model

Postby shurikenlord13 » Sat May 12, 2012 8:14 am

yea, but i cant afford a half decent one, and wont be able to for a while yet. :(

NORTHLANDERS! -- unit 00

History: AUSSIE DEMONS! -- unit 13

Proud rev-joint pilot since AC4
Armored core veteran since ACN

Return to “Fan Fiction Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest